The Plan

As I said previously, it’s time to put a plan together rather than just “buy all the foods!”  What will follow here is my own ramblings as I try to work out things in my head.  This kind of thing can be substantial, but I’m hopeful that I’ll get some feedback on my ideas to make sure I’m not being stupid.

First, my situation.

  • I do not own my home at this time, so I can’t do any significant modifications
  • I’m self-employed and work at home.
  • My wife doesn’t work.
  • We live in a mobile home in a not-so-great area. There are good people here, but there are scumbags too.
  • I have several weeks worth of food stored up already.
  • We are on city water with a reservoir nearby, but no option for a well.
  • My youngest child is four-years-old while my oldest is 14.
  • We’re moderately well armed with various long guns.  I also have two pistols and a shotgun.  Ammo is lacking on almost all of these, however.

I think that’s about it.

Now, I tend to think of things best in phases.  After all, priorities today and priorities a year from now can be very, very different.  So this is Phase I.

Phase I consists of a plan of sheltering in place for several months.  Bugging out may have to happen, but that’s why my bugout bag exists.  I don’t want to live out of that bag, but right now that’s all I can do.  Phase II will deal with a bugout plan if needed.

First, I’m going to prioritize things.

  1. Water
  2. Food
  3. Means to cook food
  4. Medical Supplies
  5. Weapons/Ammo
  6. Comfort

We live in South Georgia, where cold isn’t as much of an issue as it is most places, but I’ll lump that in with “comfort” primarily because we can survive our winters here well enough so long as we have blankets and body heat, but we’ll be miserable.

Water

This is a huge, gaping hole in my preps right now.  The plan right now is to pick up a WaterBOB or two for the bathtubs.  This would give us a hundred gallons or more in an emergency.

Obviously, there are problems with this plan.  I have to make an assumption that I can fill one up before the water goes out.  Not an unreasonable assumption, but a potentially dangerous one.  Not a good thing.

However, I don’t have the space to store 25 gallons of water per person any other way.  I’m kind of intrigued by the water blocks you can get.  They hold 3.5 gallons of water and are built to stack, two blocks per layer interlocking with the ones below and above.

Unfortunately, they’re expensive.

I also plan on getting some kind of large gravity filter.  I kind of like the Berkey line of filters, but I’ll also be looking at lower cost alternatives.

Food

I have a few weeks worth of food right now, but it’s not enough.  I need more like three months worth.

Right now, most of my foods are canned.  This is because it’s what my family cooks and eats.  We don’t eat dried beans or dried corn.  Frankly, I’ve never had a lot of luck cooking them.

However, part of this new effort will be mastering the use of these dried products.  I can cook the rice just fine, so I know I have the capability.  I need the practice.

At that point, I’ll probably get some dried beans for storage, and some dried corn.  Dried seems to be much cheaper than canned anyways, so we’ll go from there.

I also need to stock up on spices.  We keep a lot on hand anyways, but not enough to be sure we’ll last three months.

As far as starches go, though, I think I might have enough put aside already.  50 lbs of rice, 24 lbs of pasta (and we know a pound of this will feed all of us for a meal), and 19 bags of mashed potatoes.  If we figure a pound of rice per day, we’ve got 90+ days.

I’m just not sure my numbers are right on the rice.  I’ll be looking into that.

I’m also going to look at various dehydrated vegetables that will round out that aspect of our preps.  We love broccoli and cauliflower, but you can’t get cans of that so far as I can tell.  We need to do some work on that as well.

The trick there will be trying it first so we know it doesn’t suck.  My experience with freeze-dried foods doesn’t make me optimistic.

Means To Cook

You have to cook food, especially dried stuff.  We’ve got to have a stove of some sort.

Initially, I thought I’d have a Coleman camp stove for the initial stages, and then maybe use a homemade rocket stove for later.

Then I realized that was kind of stupid.

You see, “later” will be the time when most people will be hungry, and there I’d be, cooking.  Somehow I suspect the next meal prepared would be me and mine.  Not smart.

However, having the rocket stove outdoors well before hand and using it in the initial stages would simply be a case of “Tom’s got a way to cook food.”  In fact, I can permit others to use it as well.

When food starts to get scarce, I then move inside.  So far as anyone would know, I’m just as hungry as anyone else.  After all, why don’t they see me cooking anymore?

The camp stove would come in handy for short-term emergencies like power outages.

Ideally, I’d love to have a wood stove here in the house.  Unfortunately, that’s not an option right now.  Maybe in my next house.

Medical Supplies

We have always been a bit smarter than most when it comes to medical supplies.  We always have a more than ample stock of bandaids, alcohol, hydrogen peroxide, and OTC medications.

However, there are some more advanced first aid and trauma measures we haven’t adjusted for yet.  That needs to change.

My thinking is to get a refill kit for a first aid kit.  The kits themselves can be expensive, but the refills themselves aren’t too bad.  You pay more for the box than the supplies.  So, I will get a big tackle box as a “crash kit” and a larger tote with bulk supplies.

I also plan to get a dozen or so of the Israeli bandages that some folks prefer over QuickClot.  I’ve got some QuickClot in my blowout kit, but I don’t want to open that up and test it on a minor wound, so I have no idea how well it works.  What matters is being able to treat injuries.

I also need to get some suture kits and a surgical kit.

A note on those last two: I was a Navy Corpsman.  I’ve put in stitches before.  I’ve assisted in surgical procedures, and my father-in-law is a surgical tech.  We both have backgrounds to use these things correctly.  If you don’t, you may want to reconsider getting them.  Of course, if you’re getting them so you can hand them to someone who does know what they’re doing, then more power to ya.

I also need to look into some IV kits.

Weapons

This is more weapons and ammo than just weapons.  As I said, I’m good on long guns, with one per adult in the house.  I have two pistols and one shotgun.

I lack ammo for most of these.  In part, the Mosin Nagant I’m modding at the moment has no ammo because I haven’t found any locally yet.  I’ll get that handled soon enough.

One issue I have is that none of the long guns takes the same ammo.  An SKS, a Marlin 336, and a Mosin Nagant.  Yeah…it’s…eclectic to say the least. (This does not include the .22lr rifle I have.)

Now, I need at least one more pistol.  However, like the long guns, the two pistols I have are different calibers.  A 9mm semi-auto and a .38 revolver.  Clearly, my next pistol needs to be 9mm as well, but that’s a ways down the road (though I’m working on picking up a new client, and that should make it a bit easier to do this sooner).

I probably need to pick up a couple more shotguns as well, but I’m hesitant.  My son could probably learn to handle the recoil easily enough, but my wife?  Yeah, I could go 20 gauge for her, but why bother?  It’s yet another caliber to stock and do we really need three shotguns?

Something to think about.

Primarily, I need to pick up ammo.  Frankly, I need to inventory what I have.  There’s a bit of 7.62×39 and 9mm, but I’m lacking in 30-30 and, as I said, I have no 7.62x54R.  I’m also out of 30-30, which needs to be fixed.

Having multiple calibers is a mild annoyance, but it’s not an insurmountable problem.  However, it does mean I need to stock up and possibly prioritize weapons to get ammo for.

Comfort

Comfort means both physical and psychological.  For down here in South Georgia, physical comfort usually has more to do with combating heat than anything else.  That’s why I’ve bookmarked some things that may help.  They’re collars you soak in water, then wrap around the back of your neck.

As the water evaporates, it gets cool.  Due to its location, it helps feel cooler.  This is important.  You see, I suffered heat stroke about a year ago.  I now get very ill if I’m in the heat for too long.  In a long-term survival situation, I’m going to have to be in the heat.

Drinking fluids is a big part of the preventative treatment for that, but the collars should be a big help.

I also need to get some wool blankets to add to the legion of blankets my wife has accumulated here through the years.

However, that’s only part of the issue.  We also need to deal with the fact that our lives have been so upended.

That’s why I’m looking at brownie mixes that only require water, jello mixes, and pudding mixes to round out our food stores.  Things like that might just help us deal.

Boredom will be another killer.  Sure, we may be busy surviving, but you can’t work all the time.  Dark isn’t necessarily bedtime after all, and when it’s storming you can’t work outside.  That means you need ways to pass the time.

Books are everywhere in the house, and my son and I are both tabletop roleplaying gamers, which doesn’t require power.

We’ll also get a few decks of cards.

One thing we’re going to need is light, however.  For that, we’ll probably add to our oil lamps.  My wife has candles out the wazoo, but I like oil lamps.  I feel a lot safer with them myself.  In particular, we’ll probably get some railroad style lamps so we can carry them where we need them.

 

So, that’s what I’ve got in mind so far.  The trick will be what to get when.  Food will slow down a bit due to funds for that being almost depleted.  The water storage will be next because I need SOMETHING.

The trick will be getting something for all of this each and every few weeks so that everything is being addressed.  It’s easy to ignore something and then have it bite you in the butt.

So, working out how to do that will probably be the next post since thing one is so blasted long.  Again, I’m more than open to suggestions, criticisms, etc.  Just try and be polite about it. 🙂

 

7 thoughts on “The Plan

  1. I live in Louisiana. I’m familiar with South Georgia and I would be willing to bet that you could drill your own shallow well using a post hole auger and extensions in four foot increments. I did this myself and it can be done quickly and quietly. I believe your water table would be accessible within the first 20-30 feet. A young healthy guy like yourself could do that in one day. I’m an old fat guy and I did it in two days. Without a reliable means of repeatedly acquiring water that is,or can be made potable,,none of your other preparedness endeavors will matter. JMO.

    Like

    • When I said I couldn’t do it, it’s more about the local legalities than anything else. We’d have to have a full-blown WROL-type event for me to be able to get away with that.

      But it might not be a bad idea to have the things on hand to do so should the need arrive.

      As for young, I ain’t as young as I used to be on that kind of stuff. Luckily, I have a teenage son. 😀

      Like

  2. Pingback: A Quick Thanks | gettin' prepping

  3. Tom,
    You can get freeze dried broccoli and cauliflower from quite a few sources. I haven’t tried it yet but it is on my “short list”.

    Like

    • Patti,
      Cool. I figured it was out there. I need to try it though because freeze dried and I have a history, and it’s not pleasant.

      But, worst case scenario, I buy some broccoli and a dehydrator and make it work. 😀

      Like

  4. Tom – just skimming through your blog after a referral from another one. Part of my family is from Randolph and Terrell counties. I have spent many a night down there with it well below freezing. The cold may not last long, but it can get downright deadly. It has always amazed me how many of the houses don’t have fireplaces.

    Like

    • I know both of those. They’re just a short ways away from me, actually.

      And yeah, it can get cold. But generally it’s cold enough we can weather it (no pun intended) without heat for a short time if needed. Unfortunately, I have. Frankly though, the days below freezing lately have been confined to a night or two at most.

      Don’t worry though. When we go house hunting down the road, a fireplace or wood stove is high on the “must have” list.

      Like

Leave a Reply

