Review: Mora Companion MG

If there’s one tool every survivalist/prepper believes one needs, it’s a good knife.  For me, that means carbon steel.  Stainless has its place, mind you, but I hate spending the time to try and sharpen stainless.  Carbon steel is my choice, even if it rusts.

Unfortunately, carbon steel knives can be kind of pricey.  I’m not sure why, though it may have to be simply that there’s not that many of them made since most folks prefer a knife they can use and abuse and it still won’t rust.

Whatever.

Anyway, that brought me to the Mora Companion.

I’d heard about Mora knives for the last little while.  A quick look on Amazon showed me they were ridiculously inexpensive, so I took a shot in the dark and ordered one.  For less than $12, how wrong could I go?

What I got was an interesting knife that got me a bit excited.  Now, bear in mind that I’m not a knife guy.  Sure, I know a few things, but I’m far from any sort of expert, and experts can point out anything I’m wrong on.

When I opened the package, the first thing I noticed was the knife’s sheath, which is probably the most criticized feature of the knife.  I understand why.  I hate it too.  However, to be honest, it’s not as bad as it could have been.

DSCF0014

While the design leaves the knife a lot of room in the sheath to rattle around, it happens to be securely locked in place by the upper portion of the sheath which prevents that.  The sheath, despite being oversized for the knife in the blade portion, also has a drain hole to keep water from pooling around your knife.

The upper portion of the knife boasts a protrusion which allows your thumb to push against it, releasing the knife for use.  This is an excellent feature that almost makes me like the sheath.

Conveniently located.

Conveniently located.

Almost.

Once the knife is free, you can see exactly what you paid for.  Apparently, the Swedes are broke and are hocking crap for American bucks.  That’s the only explanation I can come up with for why this knife is so inexpensive.

The blade was well ground in what they term a “scandi” grind.  This reportedly makes the knife easier to sharpen.  This knife, however, already has a decent edge on it so it can be used right off the bat if needed.

DSCF0018

One issue many have is that several models of Mora knives do not have a finished spine on the blade.  Like those, mine is still rough as well.  However, a file or some sandpaper will fix this simply enough.  For a $12 knife, there are going to be some shortcuts.  I’d rather it be there than on the edge.

You can kind of see it here. In person, it's actually much rougher.

You can kind of see it here. In person, it’s actually much rougher.

The blades shape has always looked odd to me.  In part, it’s because it is kind of odd, at least by today’s standards.  It’s a flat piece of metal with an edge, basically.  There’s none of the geometry we’re used to seeing on modern knives.  However, much of those grinds and angles we see on blades these days don’t really do anything so far as I can tell.  So, Mora left them off.  Just $12, remember?

There is very little flex to the carbon steel blade, but enough to give me confidence that it won’t snap on me in the field.

The blade has what it needs and nothing that it doesn’t, so I can’t really ding it too badly for any of that.

DSCF0019

It’s the handle where Mora put their effort, and it shows.  The polymer handle is well contoured for the human hand, with even an almost imperceivable depression for your thumb to rest on near the blade.  It’s subtle, but there and still sufficient for comfort.  Honestly, the handle is as close to perfect as I’ve ever found with the exception of an impala horn handle I once had (I miss that knife something awful).  This was a whole lot cheaper, though.

DSCF0020

So now to the rating.  That was hard.  I knocked three points off for the unfinished spine, because while it’s not necessary for the basic function of the knife, I don’t want a DIY project on a supposedly completed blade.  However, I’ll add a point back because of the ridiculous value these knives represent.

I’m giving this knife an 8/10.  You can’t really go wrong with one or two of these knives.  I plan on getting one for each member of the family.  In fact, getting one for each bugout bag, get home bag, and any other bag you have isn’t a bad idea either.

Click the photo to order yours (via my affiliate store):

One thought on “Review: Mora Companion MG

  1. Pingback: Working On My Bug Out Bag | gettin' prepping

Leave a Reply

