More On The Nom Nom Front

Food is still an ongoing project for me, so I went out and got some more food.

Pretty easy, huh?

Seriously, I knew that despite all the purchases last week, we were still a long way from ready to roll.  There just wasn’t enough variety to keep us going strong day after day after day.  We needed to fix that.

Since the wife and I needed to head out anyways, we decided to hit the local grocery store for some goodies.

If I had to rely on what I could get in a grocery store if the balloon went up, I saw just how screwed I would be.

I like to buy a lot of cans.  20 or more of vegetables, to be honest.  I couldn’t do that yesterday.  Why?  Because, on a Tuesday afternoon before most folks have gotten off from work, there weren’t 20 cans of anything we ate on the freaking shelves!

Yeah, so not good.

We were shopping for peas, carrots (both of those separately), and some squash and onions (those in one can).  Since my wife is such a picky eater when it comes to veggies, these are probably about all we can stock up on that she’ll eat.  However, we bought out everything they had and still didn’t have the 20 cans.  On the peas, we could only grab ten cans.  Ten.  That’s almost nothing for a family of four.

DSCF0009

Ten cans of Le Seur early peas. About half of what I wanted to get.

I grabbed some more canned chicken since that’s practically a staple here anyways.  All eight cans.  Eight.

Luckily, we had chicken already and were just adding to it.

Chicken looks better because I'd already picked some up.

Chicken looks better because I’d already picked some up.  You can also see the ten cans of chilli I picked up.  Put it on rice, and it’s pretty good eating.

Seriously, anyone who thinks they can stock up for the apocalypse with one last run to Publix is deluded.  Try it sometime and you’ll be disappointed, that’s for sure.  And this was in good times.  Imagine if everyone else is panicking like horses in a glue factory?

Luckily, we’re planning a trip to Walmart, which tends to be much better stocked.  We’ll pick up some more of everything there, as well as Armour beef stew that we prefer.  We’ll snag a bunch of that to go along with the baked beans and chilli we already stocked (would have liked more chilli though), all of which will be stretched with rice.

Yeah, I know the Chef Boyardee stuff is frowned upon by some preppers, but I have a 14 year old son who is home for the summer.  This probably won't last the week.

Yeah, I know the Chef Boyardee stuff is frowned upon by some preppers, but I have a 14 year old son who is home for the summer. This probably won’t last the week.

 

 

 

 

 

 

We used these a lot, and since the expiration date is sometime in 2018, I picked some up.

We used these a lot, and since the expiration date is sometime in 2018, I picked some up.

I haven’t figured up how long I’ve got food for, but I’m guessing at least a month now, if not more.  Not too shabby.

On another front, I got a new pretty in the mail today.  A Mora Companion knife.  I’ll try and spend some quality time with it today and get a review of it up tomorrow.  So far, though, my initial impression is pretty good.  I’m already planning on getting one for everyone else in the family.

I still need to work on water, which is a biggie, but I’m looking at possibilities for that.

Leave a Reply

