What I Prep For And How?

I’m not going to tell you what to prep for, must less how to prep for it.  I barely know how to do most of this stuff myself.  However, what I’m prepping for — as well as my basic philosophy of prepping in general — is essential to discuss in order to understand why I make some of the decisions I make.

First, let’s understand that most preppers tend to pick a “worst case scenario” to work toward.  Prepping for a hurricane or tornado is one thing, but if you’re ready for the zombie apocalypse, an ice storm is small potatoes.

For me, the worst case scenario is any kind of electromagnetic pulse (EMP).  An EMP will fry out any non-hardened electronics which includes most of our infrastructure.  Only a handful of systems will survive, but those won’t be enough to handle the massive breakdown in social order.

The terrifying part is that this will happen at some point.

You see, there are two ways an EMP can be produced.  The first is through a nuclear explosion.  One high up in the atmosphere would disperse an EMP that could envelop the entire country.

And that’s the best case for an EMP since other nations wouldn’t be impacted and could give us aid.

However, EMPs are also produced by the sun.  A coronal mass ejection (CME) can and has produced a massive EMP that could cause even more damage.  A CME is a massive solar flare.  In the 19th century, a CME fried out the telegraph system in this country.  Luckily, that was the only electrical system in place at the time, so we survived.  If that happened today?

Yeah…not so good.

So, for me, that’s what I’m prepping for.  To me, an EMP would send us back into the early part of the 19th Century, and we’d have to learn how to make it all over again.

Now, with that in mind, I’m going to tell you what I don’t plan on having.  Since electricity will kind of be a non-entity, the soft glow of an electric light on in your home may serve as a beacon, calling on people to come and kick in your door and take your stuff.

So, that’s where my philosophy of prepping comes in.

I’m prepping for a permanent collapse, the end of all that we know.  As such, my preps aren’t going to be heavy on solar panels, battery operated gadgets, etc.  I’m going old school.

Instead of electric lamps, I have oil lamps.  Instead of digital copies of every prepping book imaginable, hardcopy is more practical for me.  Get the picture?

Of course, I’m not stupid.  While an EMP will eventually happen, there’s no telling when a CME will bring one, and terrorists may never use a nuke in such a way.  I’m not spending my life in fear.

I know that my preps are far more likely to be used to weather a nasty storm, a flood, or some other natural disaster.  I might (God forbid) even have to deal with some scary civil unrest like a prolonged riot.  We might even have to deal with something like Venezuela is dealing with, things like food shortages and empty grocery store shelves.  All of these are far, far more likely than an EMP.

But here’s the thing to keep in mind: If you’re ready for an EMP, you’re ready for almost anything.

Plus, my own plans for things like lighting don’t necessarily invite the curious.  An oil lamp glowing?  They’re common enough (though not necessarily common) that they don’t invite interest.  Candles are the same way.

Especially when no one else has anything electrical.

But that’s just my thinking on stuff like this.

Leave a Reply

